Seat Inspections and Assistance
The Ramsey County Sheriff's Office promotes and enforces child passenger safety practices and laws. The Sheriff's Office provides no cost child passenger safety seat inspections and assistance with the installation of child safety seats.
Inspections and assistance are performed by nationally certified members of the Sheriff’s Office by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, please call 651-266-7344. Inspections and assistance are provided at the Sheriff’s Patrol Station (1411 Paul Kirkwold Drive, Arden Hills). Additional sites for inspection/installation can be found by following the links listed below.
Child Passenger Restraint Law
The child passenger safety statute, Minnesota State Statute 169.685 (Seat Belt; Passenger Restraint System for Children), explains:
- All children under age 8 must ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat, unless the child is 4'9" or taller
- Safety seats must be installed and used according to the manufacturer's instructions
- Infants (under 20 pounds and one year of age) must be in a rear-facing safety seat
- Law applies to all motor vehicles originally equipped with factory-installed seat belts
- Law applies to all seating positions
- Driver is responsible
- Petty misdemeanor fine for violation is $50 (may be waived if violator shows proof of obtaining a safety seat within 14 days)
- Applies to both residents and non-residents of Minnesota
- Suspected non-use is a valid basis to stop a motor vehicle
- Children riding in emergency medical vehicles, when medical needs make use of a restraint unreasonable
- Children riding in a motor vehicle for hire, including a taxi, airport limousine or bus, but excluding a rented, leased or borrowed motor vehicle
- Children riding with a peace officer on official duty, when a restraint is not available (a seat belt must be substituted)
- Children certified by a licensed physician as having a medical, physical or mental disability that makes restraint use inadvisable
- Passengers in school buses with a GVWR of over 10,000 pounds
Please note this law is a minimum safety standard and does not reflect best practices for properly securing children within vehicles.
Links and Resources
Please visit these websites for up-to-date information regarding child passenger safety:
For more information, please contact Community Support Services at 651-266-7344.