Free Adobe PDF Reader

Phone:
651-266-2000

Email:
AskPropertyTaxandRecords
@co.ramsey.mn.us

Building Locations

blank space

Choose text size: A | A | A
Bookmark and Share

blank space

License - Auctioneer


Precious Metals License || Transient Merchant License || Back to Licenses

Resident Auctioneer

An auctioneer’s license is required by any individual conducting the business of an auctioneer in the State of Minnesota. To qualify for a license an applicant must be:

  • 18 years of age or older 
  • Resident of the county in which you submit your application for 6 months prior to the date of your application

Application Process

In order to apply, the following forms must be completed and accepted prior to issuing a license. Forms can be downloaded and completed on-line, but must be printed, signed, and mailed or delivered to our office.

The forms are as follows:

A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers in the amount of $1,000.00 must accompany the license application. 

  • Bond should be made payable to Ramsey County.

Licenses are valid one year from the date of issuance.

Fees

  • A new or renewal license is $20.00.
  • We will accept payment by Check or Money Order.
  • Funds should be made payable to Ramsey County.

Renewal

To renew your license you must contact our office or submit the required forms and fee 30-days prior to expiration of your license.


Non-Resident Auctioneer

An auctioneer’s license is required by any non-resident in order to conduct an auction within the State of Minnesota. A resident of another state which issues auctioneers’ licenses to Minnesota citizens on the same or similar basis as the citizens of the applicant’s state may be licensed as an auctioneer in the state of Minnesota, after complying with Minnesota laws related to auctioneers’ licenses. An applicant must establish reciprocity prior to issuance of a non-resident license.

To qualify for a license an applicant must be:

  • 18 years of age or older 
  • Resident of the County and State you are claiming residency for 6 months prior to the date of your application.

Application Process

In order to apply, the following forms must be completed and accepted prior to issuing a license. Forms can be downloaded and completed on-line, but must be printed, signed, and mailed or delivered to our office.

The forms are as follows:

  • Application for Non-Resident Auctioneer License - new or renewal (pdf
  • Form SP: C1 – License Applicant Information (pdf) (doc)
  • Certification of Compliance with Minnesota Workers' Compensation Law (pdf
  • Irrevocable Consent form (pdf)
  • Additional information required to establish reciprocity:
    • A certified copy of your Auctioneer’s license, if one was issued by your resident state
    • A certified copy of the state auction laws that exist in your resident state, as they exist at the time of your application
    • If you reside in a state that has no auctioneer statutes, you must submit a certified copy of the auctioneer’s ordinance that exists in the municipality in which your Auctioneer’s license was issued or a statement from the City Clerk affirming that:  
      • The state has no statutes relating to the licensing of auctioneers, and 
      • A Minnesota resident may conduct auctions in the municipality on the same or similar basis as a resident of the municipality

A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers in the amount of $1,000.00 must accompany the license application.

  • Bond should be made payable to Ramsey County.

Fees

  • A new or renewal license is $20.00.
  • We will accept payment by Check or Money Order.
  • Funds should be made payable to Ramsey County.


Renewal

To renew your license you must contact our office or submit the required forms and fee 30-days prior to expiration of your license.

 

Additional Requirements of Auctioneers - Resident and Non-Resident

  • All advertisements of auction sales must list the name, address and license number of the auctioneer or auctioneers conducting a sale. 
  • Any change of address by the licensee requires a Notice in writing, with your new address and a $3 fee, to the county auditor issuing the license. The county auditor will issue a duplicate license showing the new address.
    • Licensee has 30 days from the date of their change of address to notify the county auditor.
    • Failure to notify the county auditor can result in the automatic cancellation of your license.
  • Prior to sale at public auction, every auctioneer shall enter into a written contract, containing the terms and conditions of the sale, with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold.

Contact Us

Penalties

Any person who violates the provisions for Auctioneers as provided in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 330 is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Reference Links

Minnesota Statutes Chapter 330; Auctioneers