Free Adobe PDF Reader

Phone:
651-266-4444

Email:
AskHumanServices
@co.ramsey.mn.us

Building Locations

blank space

Choose text size: A | A | A
Bookmark and Share

blank space

Ramsey County Child Care Providers


Child Care Home  l   Applicants l Licensed Providers l Parents 

 

651-266-3781

5 happy childrenLicensed Child Care

Family Providers

 


Memo from DHS:  4-15-15

Family Child Care Licensors:

We have begun to receive questions from licensors and providers about ANNUAL training requirements for family child care providers and how that should be or is being monitored around the state.  In light of those questions, we are providing guidance to all family child care licensors so that training renewal is being interpreted and enforced consistently for all providers in Minnesota.

The current Child Growth and Development/Behavior Guidance training and Supervising for Safety training are both ANNUAL training requirements. 
There is a definition of ANNUAL in 245A:

Minnesota Statutes, sections 245A.02 DEFINITIONS.

Subd. 2b. Annual or annually. "Annual" or "annually" means prior to or within the same month of the subsequent calendar year.

Therefore, in assisting providers or deciding if their training requirements have been met, this definition should be applied.  So, for example using this definition - if a provider previously completed Supervising for Safety training on April 8, 2014, the provider will have until the end of April 2015 to complete Supervising for Safety training again and still meet the annual requirement.  Correction orders may only be issued if the provider fails to complete the training requirement by April 30, 2015.

In addition, this same logic should be applied to other trainings that don’t have an ANNUAL requirement but have a once every two years or a once every five years requirement.  Those trainings can be completed prior to or within the same month of the subsequent calendar year the training was previously completed.

Health and Safety

Training  

Licensing 

Important Notice: Fees to recover background study costs ($100) AND licensing ($50 for one year or $100 for two years) must be paid 15 days prior to the end of your current license date. If the fee isn't received on time, the licensing worker WILL NOT SUBMIT LICENSING RECOMMENDATION TO DHS. The license will be closed. More about re-licensing fees 

License Report Memos

Fall 2014 Ramsey County Update
2014 Child Care Changes Background Studies, Disqualification, Electronic Cigs, Tax Payer IDs, Training

Forms

Resources

Child Care Home